Andrew Watson’s season begins at Spa-Francorchamps

The Total 6 Hours of Spa-Francorchamps will kickstart Andrew Watson’s 2021 campaign, as he takes to the FIA World Endurance Championship LMGTE Am grid with D’station Racing.

Lining up alongside Satoshi Hoshino and Tomonobu Fujii, Andrew will pilot the team’s #777 Aston Martin AMR GTE in association with TF Sport.


Andrew has extensive experience with Aston Martin's GT machinery, claiming a race victory in the 2020 GT World Challenge Europe Endurance series alongside a third-place podium finish at the Bathurst 12 Hours in the same year.


The Northern Irishman also returns for his second season in WEC, following a successful debut campaign in the 2019-20 season, where he claimed a third-place podium in the LMGTE Am class in Bahrain and finished an excellent fifth in class on his 24 Hours of Le Mans debut.


The Spa-Francorchamps circuit represents one of the biggest challenges a driver can face, with a mixture of low, high and medium speed corners nestled in the undulations of the Ardennes forest. Settling into a rhythm is key to success with gravel traps never far away to punish even the smallest of errors.


Excited for the weekend, Andrew is looking forward to getting stuck in with the team and battling for success on track.


“I’ve been looking forward to this weekend for a long time,” Andrew said. “It’s brilliant that we’re able to get the season started safely. For me, the winter has been all about training and preparation so I can’t wait to put all of that to good use this weekend. I always enjoy coming to Spa-Francorchamps as it’s one of those circuits that offers a challenge every single lap, which makes it all the more satisfying when you get it right.”


Following the two-day Prologue, the weekend begins on Thursday afternoon with the opening Free Practice session at 15:30 CEST (14:30 BST). The second and third Free Practice sessions take place on Friday at 09:30 CEST (8:30 BST) and 14:00 CEST (13:00 BST) with Qualifying scheduled for 18:20 CEST (17:20 BST) on Friday afternoon. Saturday will see the six-hour endurance race begin at 13:30 CEST (12:30 BST).


To follow the action across the weekend, UK viewers can tune into Eurosport 2, access live coverage through the FIA WEC mobile app and follow live timing at FIAWEC.com.

Images courtesy of D'station Racing.