Blomqvist set for WEC season-opener

Tom Blomqvist is set for the season-opening round of the 2021 FIA World Endurance Championship at Spa-Francorchamps.

The Brit embarks on his first, full WEC campaign with JOTA - piloting the team’s #28 Oreca-Gibson machine in the LMP2 category, alongside Sean Gelael and Stoffel Vandoorne. Tom’s previous LMP2 experience includes a second-place podium with Gelael at the 2016 6 Hours of Shanghai and a double victory at the final two rounds of the 2021 Asian Le Mans Series, which the team used as a warm up in preparation for their WEC programme.


Tom also has extensive experience of the 7.004km Spa-Francorchamps circuit, with his CV boasting overall victory at the 2018 24 Hours of Spa amongst several visits to the circuit in a plethora of events and championships - including fifth place in the GTE class at the 2018 6 Hours of Spa-Francorchamps.


Looking ahead to the weekend, Tom is excited to get the season underway and looks forward to taking to the track for the six-hour showpiece event.


“It’s great to finally be starting the season,” Tom said. “We’ve put in a lot of work over the winter to prepare for the season so we’re all looking forward to finally getting the year going. As my first full season in WEC, I’m really excited to see what we can achieve as a team and this weekend will give us our first marker to see what’s possible. With Sean and Stoffel alongside, I’m confident we can push for some good results from the get-go.”


Tom’s weekend will get underway with the first Free Practice session on Thursday afternoon at 15:30 CEST (14:30 BST). Friday’s schedule will include the final two Free Practice sessions at 09:30 CEST (08:30 BST) and 14:00 CEST (13:00 BST) alongside the 30-minute qualifying session from 18:20 CEST (17:20 BST). Saturday marks race day and will see the green flag fly for the main event at 13:30 CEST (12:30 BST).


Live coverage of the weekend will be available in the UK on Eurosport 2 and across the FIA WEC app with live timing also available through the FIA WEC website.

Images courtesy of JOTA.