Conway excited to start new WEC era at Spa-Francorchamps

Mike Conway is set to embark on a new era at this weekend’s FIA World Endurance Championship season-opener in Spa-Francorchamps, as the series welcomes the highly-anticipated Hypercar category.

The reigning WEC champion will pilot TOYOTA GAZOO Racing’s brand-new GR010 HYBRID alongside Kamui Kobayashi and José María López as they begin their title defence at the revered Belgian circuit.


Winning the 2019-20 World Championship with four victories from eight races, Mike and the #7 crew enter this new season as the team to beat.


This weekend’s Total 6 Hours of Spa-Francorchamp will kick off the new season, with a 35-strong field set to battle around the picturesque Ardennes forest.


As winners of last year’s contest, Mike and the team know what it takes to conquer the 7.004km, 20-turn Belgian circuit and will utilise that success as they battle for glory in the Hypercar category’s first outing.


“I am really excited to kick off the new season and the new Hypercar era,” Mike said. “I am absolutely ready to go; I know I have great team-mates in Kamui and José, plus a fantastic team around us, and we are fired up to retain our World Championship. A lot of work has gone into the GR010 HYBRID already and we need to do more to realise its full potential; we are continuously working to make improvements. Spa is an important step in that process so it's a race I am very much looking forward to.”


With a busy schedule across the weekend, the opening Free Practice session will start proceedings on Thursday afternoon at 15:30 CEST (14:30 BST). Friday will play host to a further two Free Practice sessions at 09:30 CEST (08:30 BST) and 14:00 CEST (13:00 BST) followed by Qualifying from 18:20 CEST (17:20 BST). The six-hour endurance race will get underway at 13:30 CEST (12:30 BST) on Saturday afternoon.


Live timing will be available through the weekend on the FIA WEC website and viewers in the UK can watch live coverage of the action on Eurosport 2 and through the official FIA WEC app.

Images courtesy of TOYOTA GAZOO Racing.