Conway gears up for Mobil 1 Twelve Hours of Sebring

Mike Conway’s 2021 campaign continues in earnest this weekend as the IMSA WeatherTech SportsCar Championship travels to Florida for the 69th edition of the renowned Mobil 1 Twelve Hours of Sebring endurance race.

Mike aims for better fortunes for himself and the #31 Whelen Engineering team after finishing sixth at the Rolex 24 Hours of Daytona, where a gutting mechanical fault scuppered their chance of victory after a dominant performance in the pole position race.


The 3.47-mile circuit just east of Sebring, Florida, holds fond memories for Mike with two third-place podium results in his previous two IMSA WeatherTech visits with the Action Express Racing team. He also claimed a further second-place podium with Toyota Gazoo Racing when the the FIA World Endurance Championship visited the American circuit in 2019.


Mike will once again share the #31 Cadillac DPi-V.R with Michelin Endurance Cup team mates Felipe Nasr and Pipo Derani.


“It’s great to be heading back to Sebring,” Mike commented. “It was a real shame to have missed it last year as it’s such a great race to be a part of so I’m thrilled to be returning. As a team, we’ve put the disappointment of Daytona behind us and are focusing on the positives. We showed we definitely had the pace to go for the win so we’re feeling confident about our chances this weekend. It looks like it’s going to be a really warm weekend too so there’s lots to keep an eye on!”


An action-packed schedule of racing sees the weekend kick off with the first free practice session on Thursday at 09:05 ET (13:05 GMT). Two further practice sessions follow on Thursday afternoon at 13:55 ET (17:55 GMT) and 19:30 ET (23:30 GMT). The all-important qualifying session then takes place on Friday morning at 11:45 ET (15:45 GMT) with the green flag flying for the once-round-the-clock race at 10:10 ET (14:10 GMT) on Saturday morning.


All sessions will be live streamed on the IMSA website with international viewers able to access the broadcast via IMSA TV.

Images courtesy of Action Express Racing.